Fried

Orbital Operations for 6 August 2023

Constant autumn out here on the Thames Delta now. Grey skies like a lid on the country, regular cold rains, the passing of things. The only sign of summer now is the clinging humidity. Picking the last of the suffering raspberries, and marvelling at the great bush of mignonette strawberries I raised from seed. Soon I will be roasting coffee beans again. The year feels close to being over already.

I am fried. I generated around fifty pages of material Weds-Fri alone, and I have to keep doing that for a while to get back on track after the time losses of the last two months. It is fine. I can do this. I am young and strong. It’s a snap.

(hi, Aaron)

So today is only a couple of quick notes just to say hi, and I’ll be back with a proper letter next week.

Got this in email: new self published zine by Farel Dalrymple (who I guess goes by Farel Dal now?) and Soph Franz. I’ve always loved Dal’s work, and Franz has similar skills. Link here. I adore a good square book.

My own weekend reading is artist John Coulthart’s journal.

My name is Warren Ellis, and I’m a writer from England. These newsletters are about the work I do and the creative life I try to lead. I send them every Sunday to subscribers. Feel free to send your friends to orbitaloperations.beehiiv.com , where they can read the most recent letters and subscribe for their own.

I’m represented by Angela Cheng Caplan at the Cheng Caplan Company and David Hale Smith at Inkwell Management. Please add [email protected] to your email system’s address book or contacts.

SPEKTRMODULE

Comics writer Kek-W makes new record DAGON ALLEY which is:

A warped and malignant picture postcard of Yeovil, twinned with Innsmouth. The ink has run, has slid off the surface of Reality like a wet, finger-smudged Polaroid, leaving the image unrecognisable and speckled with mould. Paranoia and a sense of creeping, small town unease. Doors appear in walls, the roads no longer match the map.

Much atmospheric and also "never go to Yeovil that place sounds weird mate”

GOT MORE TIME?

KEEP READING

WARRENELLIS.LTD is my personal notebook, in which I make new entries several times a day. Think of it as all the things I can't fit into this newsletter, from links and bookmarks to reviews, random thoughts and life notes. If you use a RSS reader, it generates a feed at https://warrenellis.ltd/feed/ .

And various other bits and pieces.

Here’s an old one: JESUS BONES.

I am trying to do better, generally. I will try to do better here next week, too, when I am hopefully less fried. Don’t be like me: don’t fry yourself this week, look after yourself instead and do what feels good. You deserve it. See you next week.